Interview Mini-Project

Today we were given a mini-project where we were first split off into three groups, creatively named group 1, group 2 and you guessed it, the fighting mongooses, no I’m just kidding group 3. each group was assigned an aspect of doing an interview to look into, one the actual asking questions bit one the framing and cutaways and all that and the other the more technical side. I at first wanted to be group 1 but ended up in group 2, but I am happy about that because overall I think we did a good job in group 2.

We researched the usual things in our power point we made to present to the group such as cutaways, camera placement backgrounds all that jazz, but we really decided on what we were going to do when we were talking to the other two groups about the interview we now all had to team up to do. After a group conversation we decided on how we were going to set things up what camera placements what light placements and so on and so forth.

As soon as we had set up most of the equipment I quickly ran through and made sure all the cameras were all on the same setting so as not to create too much of a different image for each camera. I then made sure to run through with everyone where they were planning on standing during the shoot itself, because it struck me with a group as large as this some people may get a bit lost especially if they had no specific job wile the cameras where rolling and potentially create unwanted noise, so I made sure everyone knew where they would be when the interviews sat in front of the camera.

Standing there not being able to do anything wile I watched the interview unfold was a bit bad from the fact that I couldn’t do anything about the outside sounds that were coming in and it was nigh impossible to communicate with anyone else wile rolling for fear of creating excess sound myself whether just to say ‘that’s a good shot’ or ‘your shadow is getting in the shot move’

This entry was posted in Producing and Directing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment